Skip to the page
HomeApplianceBluff

What does nine-in-one mean on an air fryer

An in-one figure is a count the seller prints on the box, and nothing in it obliges the listing to say what the places are. Of the 5 air fryer listings gathered here the counts run from 4 to 9, and two of them name none of their places at all. The honest reading of the highest count in this group is that a seller counted to 9 and left the reader to work out what was counted.

What each listing states

Every counted field this question turns on, as the listings state it
ListingIn-onePresetsSettingsCapacityMax temp
Cosori TurboBlaze 6 Qt 9-in-1 Air Fryer9not stated5 fan speeds6 quart90 to 450F
Cuisinart TOA-70NAS Air Fryer Toaster Oven, 8-in-1, Stainless Steel8not statednot stated0.6 cubic feetnot stated
Chefman TurboFry 9 Qt Air Fryer, 7-in-17not statednot stated9 quart450F
Ninja AF181 Air Fryer XL with MaxCrisp, 6.5 Qt, 6-in-1, Grey6not statednot stated6.5 quart450F
Ninja FN101ST Crispi Glass Air Fryer, 4-in-1, Stone4not statednot stated4 Qt and a 6 cup container450F

The count and the names are two separate claims

This catalog records two things about an in-one claim: the figure, and the modes the same listing goes on to name. They are not required to agree, and across these 5 listings they mostly do not. Two of them name as many modes as their own figure claims, and two name none.

The Chefman states a seven-in-one and then names air fry, bake, broil, reheat, dehydrate, defrost and keep warm, which is a count matched by a list. The Cosori states a nine-in-one, the highest figure in this group, and names nothing whatsoever. Between those two sits the Cuisinart, which states an eight-in-one and names four modes, half of what it counts.

What gets counted is not fixed

Where the places are named they are not the same places from one listing to the next. The Ninja Crispi states a four-in-one and names max crisp, bake, air fry and recrisp, a set in which air frying is itself one of the four. The Cuisinart names air fry, convection, broil and warm, so convection stands as a place in one listing while another treats the fan as the machine itself.

That is why a higher figure cannot be read as more machine. Two listings can reach the same total from different things, and one of them can count as a place what the other treats as the base. The catalog-wide count of in-one figures sets out how wide that spread runs.

What travels with a high count

Not size. All 5 of these listings state a capacity, across 5 different figures, and the highest in-one count does not sit on the largest of them. The listing with the lowest count is the one that states its capacity in two parts at once.

Not wattage either. Only three of the 5 state a wattage, from 1725W to 1800W, and two state none. The highest wattage here belongs to a listing whose in-one figure is not the highest. Set beside the quart-against-quart comparison, the pattern repeats: one field is filled in and the rest are patchy.

Reading an in-one figure off a box

The figure is a claim about how the seller has divided up the machine, and that division belongs to the seller. Where a listing names its places a reader can see the division and check it against the count. Where it does not, the figure carries nothing beyond itself, and the table below marks what is absent as "not stated" rather than guessing at it.

These 5 listings sit in 3 different subgroups, which is part of why the counts do not line up: a basket fryer and an oven with an air-fry setting are not dividing the same kind of machine. The category index keeps them filed apart for that reason.

Next to this one

Questions with plain answers

What does a nine-in-one air fryer mean?

On the listing filed here that states it, the figure stands alone: the Cosori states a nine-in-one and names none of the nine places. The count is a division of the machine made by the seller, and where the places go unnamed there is nothing further in the listing to read.

Is a higher in-one number better?

Nothing in these 5 listings supports that. The highest figure here names no modes at all, while two lower ones name every mode they count. A count and a list of named jobs are different claims, and only one of the two can be checked against anything.

What functions does a seven-in-one air fryer have?

The Chefman listing states a seven-in-one and then names them: air fry, bake, broil, reheat, dehydrate, defrost and keep warm. It is one of two listings in this group whose named modes match its own figure exactly.

Why do air fryer listings count different things?

Because nothing requires them to count the same things. Among these 5 the named sets overlap without agreeing: one counts air frying as a place inside its own total, another counts convection as a place, and two name nothing at all.

The listings on this page

Highest in-one count in this category

Cosori TurboBlaze 6 Qt 9-in-1 Air Fryer, product image supplied with the listing

Cosori TurboBlaze 6 Qt 9-in-1 Air Fryer

9places claimed in the in-one figure; filled marks are named in the listing

This listing states more separate figures than any other basket fryer here: an in-one count, a capacity, a temperature range, a fan speed count and a wattage. It also carries the highest in-one figure in this category. None of the nine places is named.

In-one
9
Settings
5 fan speeds
Capacity
6 quart
Watts
1725
Max temp
90 to 450F
Not stated
3 of the counted fields

What the listing gives you

  • Five different counted or measured claims in one listing
  • The temperature claim is stated as a range with both ends given
  • Fan speeds are counted separately from the in-one figure
  • The wattage is stated, which most of this category skips

What it leaves out

  • None of the nine places in the in-one figure is named
  • A fan speed count and an in-one count are different kinds of number sold as one claim
  • The coating and lock claims are seller statements with no figure attached

Best for
The listing with the most numbers on it, and the fewest of them defined.

Badge basis
Its in-one figure is the highest stated in this category, and it is stated by this listing alone.

Quoted from the listing
listing states 9-in-1, 6 quart, a PFAS-free ceramic coating, 90 to 450F, 5 fan speeds, a safety lock and 1725W

Check the listing

Highest stated wattage in the catalog

Cuisinart TOA-70NAS Air Fryer Toaster Oven, 8-in-1, Stainless Steel, product image supplied with the listing

Cuisinart TOA-70NAS Air Fryer Toaster Oven, 8-in-1, Stainless Steel

8places claimed in the in-one figure; filled marks are named in the listing

This is a toaster oven with an air fry setting, not a basket fryer, and its listing measures its cavity in cubic feet while the baskets around it are measured in quarts. It also states the highest wattage in the catalog.

The listing describes a toaster oven with an air fry setting. It is filed in this category because that is how it is sold, and this site does not call it a basket fryer.

In-one
8
Capacity
0.6 cubic feet
Watts
1800
Model code
TOA-70NAS
Not stated
4 of the counted fields

What the listing gives you

  • The cavity is measured, and the unit is stated
  • Four of the eight places are named in the listing text
  • The wattage is stated plainly
  • The model code appears in the listing title

What it leaves out

  • Cubic feet and quarts do not sit on the same scale, so its capacity cannot join the subgroup
  • Part of the in-one count is unnamed
  • It is a different machine from the baskets it is filed beside

Best for
A cavity measured the way a microwave is, in a category measured in quarts.

Badge basis
This wattage figure is stated by one listing in the catalog, and no listing anywhere here states a higher one.

Quoted from the listing
listing states 8-in-1, 1800W, air fry, convection, broil and warm, 0.6 cubic feet and a 60-minute timer

Check the listing

Largest stated basket in quarts

Chefman TurboFry 9 Qt Air Fryer, 7-in-1, product image supplied with the listing

Chefman TurboFry 9 Qt Air Fryer, 7-in-1

7places claimed in the in-one figure; filled marks are named in the listing

A seven-in-one whose listing names air fry, bake, broil, reheat, dehydrate, defrost and keep warm, so the names line up with the count. It also states the largest basket in quarts of any listing filed here, and a maximum temperature.

In-one
7
Capacity
9 quart
Max temp
450F
Not stated
5 of the counted fields

What the listing gives you

  • The named modes match the stated in-one figure
  • The largest stated basket in this category, in quarts
  • A maximum temperature is stated as a plain figure
  • The viewing window is described rather than counted as a function

What it leaves out

  • Naming seven modes still does not say what makes one a mode
  • Keep warm and defrost sit in the same list as air fry, at equal weight
  • No wattage is stated

Best for
A count with a matching list, on the biggest basket in this category.

Badge basis
No other listing in this category states this capacity, and no basket here is stated larger in the same unit.

Quoted from the listing
listing states 7-in-1, 9 quart, 450F cooking, an XL basket with a viewing window, air fry, bake, broil, reheat, dehydrate, defrost and keep warm

Check the listing

Contents counted in pounds of wings

Ninja AF181 Air Fryer XL with MaxCrisp, 6.5 Qt, 6-in-1, Grey, product image supplied with the listing

Ninja AF181 Air Fryer XL with MaxCrisp, 6.5 Qt, 6-in-1, Grey

6places claimed in the in-one figure; filled marks are named in the listing

Four figures about the machine and one about what goes in it. The pound figure is a capacity claim measured in the contents rather than the basket, which makes it the hardest number in this catalog to line up against anything else.

In-one
6
Capacity
6.5 quart
Contents
9 lbs of wings
Watts
1750
Max temp
450F
Model code
AF181
Not stated
2 of the counted fields

What the listing gives you

  • Basket volume and wattage are both stated with units
  • A maximum temperature is stated as a single figure
  • The pound figure is at least specific about what it is counting
  • The model code appears in the listing title

What it leaves out

  • A weight of contents and a volume of basket are two different scales in one listing
  • None of the six places is named
  • Its wattage is identical to another listing here of a different basket size

Best for
A capacity claim measured in poultry.

Badge basis
This contents figure is stated by one listing in the catalog, and no other listing states a wing weight.

Quoted from the listing
listing states 6-in-1, 6.5 quart, 1750W, a 450F maximum and a fit of 9 lbs of wings

Check the listing

Containers instead of a basket

Ninja FN101ST Crispi Glass Air Fryer, 4-in-1, Stone, product image supplied with the listing

Ninja FN101ST Crispi Glass Air Fryer, 4-in-1, Stone

4places claimed in the in-one figure; filled marks are named in the listing

A system of glass containers with a powered lid rather than a single basket unit. The names match the count, but the capacity arrives as two containers in two different units, so the one capacity figure other listings give becomes two here.

The listing describes a system of glass containers rather than a single basket unit. It is filed in this category because that is how it is sold, and this site does not call it a basket fryer.

In-one
4
Capacity
4 Qt and a 6 cup container
Max temp
450F
Model code
FN101ST
Not stated
4 of the counted fields

What the listing gives you

  • The named modes match the stated in-one figure
  • Both containers are measured, each with its own unit
  • A maximum temperature is stated
  • The model code appears in the listing title

What it leaves out

  • Two containers in two units cannot be reduced to one capacity figure
  • Max crisp and recrisp are counted as separate places without being distinguished
  • It is not built like the basket machines it is filed beside

Best for
A capacity that arrives in two pieces and two units.

Badge basis
It is the only listing in this category whose stated capacity describes a set of containers rather than one basket or one cavity.

Quoted from the listing
listing states 4-in-1, max crisp, bake, air fry and recrisp, a 450F maximum, a 4 Qt and a 6 cup container and PFAS-free glass

Check the listing

More questions in this category