Skip to the page
HomeApplianceBluff

Gear ยท 10 listings

Countertop Microwave Ovens

seven listings, one pair of numbers

This is the category where the numbers stop working. Most of the listings filed here state the same cavity figure and the same wattage as each other, which means the two figures printed largest on the box separate almost nothing. Two of those listings are identical in every stated figure and differ only in finish. What is left to compare is the vocabulary.

The machine underneath: A cavity and a magnetron

0.7 Cu.Ft, 700 W 7

Every listing in this subgroup states the same cavity figure and the same wattage, so neither figure appears as a column below. What varies is the preset vocabulary and whether anything else is counted at all.

What differs inside 0.7 Cu.Ft, 700 W
ListingPresetsSettingsModel code
Chefman Countertop Microwave Oven, 0.7 Cu.Ft, 700W, Black610 power levelsnot stated
BLACK+DECKER Countertop Microwave Oven, 0.7 Cu.Ft, 700W, Black610 power levelsnot stated
BLACK+DECKER EM720CB7 Countertop Microwave Oven, 0.7 Cu.Ft, 700W, Stainless Steelnot stated10 power levelsEM720CB7
Nostalgia Retro Countertop Microwave Oven, 0.7 Cu.Ft, 700W, Pink8not statednot stated
COMFEE EM720CPL-PMB Countertop Microwave Oven, 0.7 Cu.Ft, 700W, Blacknot statednot statedEM720CPL-PMB
Farberware FMO07AHTBKJ Countertop Microwave Oven, 0.7 Cu.Ft, 700W, Stainlessnot statednot statedFMO07AHTBKJ
Farberware FMO07ABTBKA Countertop Microwave Oven, 0.7 Cu.Ft, 700W, Blacknot statednot statedFMO07ABTBKA
  • The shared pair, presets and levels both counted

    Chefman Countertop Microwave Oven, 0.7 Cu.Ft, 700W, Black, product image supplied with the listing

    Chefman Countertop Microwave Oven, 0.7 Cu.Ft, 700W, Black

    6presets claimed; the listing names none of them

    It states the pair of figures that most of this category states, and then adds two counts the pair does not include: a power level count and a preset count. Neither of those counts is defined, and the presets are not named.

    Presets
    6 cooking presets
    Settings
    10 power levels
    Capacity
    0.7 cubic feet
    Watts
    700
    Not stated
    4 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • It states two counted figures on top of the pair its neighbors share
    • Power levels and presets are counted separately rather than added together
    • Eco mode and the mute button are named rather than folded into a count
    • Both figures in the shared pair are stated with their units

    What it leaves out

    • The pair of figures it leads with is shared with several other listings here
    • None of the presets is named
    • Nothing states what one power level is, or how it differs from the next

    Best for
    The shared pair, with two extra counts stacked on top of it.

    Badge basis
    It states the cavity and wattage pair that several listings here share, and it is the only listing in this category to call its presets cooking presets.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states 0.7 cubic feet, 700 watts, 10 power levels, 6 cooking presets, one-touch express cook, eco mode, a child safety lock and a mute button

    Check the listing
  • The shared pair, express cooking named

    BLACK+DECKER Countertop Microwave Oven, 0.7 Cu.Ft, 700W, Black, product image supplied with the listing

    BLACK+DECKER Countertop Microwave Oven, 0.7 Cu.Ft, 700W, Black

    6presets claimed; the listing names none of them

    The same pair again, the same preset figure as one neighbor and the same power level figure as two others, all under a different phrase. Its presets are called one-touch presets, which is a third name in this category for something none of the listings defines.

    Presets
    6 one-touch presets
    Settings
    10 power levels
    Capacity
    0.7 cubic feet
    Watts
    700
    Not stated
    4 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • Both counted figures are stated as numbers rather than described
    • Express cooking is named separately from the preset count
    • The interior claim is a plain adjective, not a figure
    • The pair is stated with units on both halves

    What it leaves out

    • Every figure in the listing is stated by at least one other listing here
    • One-touch preset, cooking preset and auto cook preset are three names in one category
    • None of the presets is named individually

    Best for
    The third phrase for a preset inside a single category.

    Badge basis
    It states the shared cavity and wattage pair, and it is the only listing in the catalog to call its presets one-touch presets.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states 0.7 cubic feet, 700 watts, 6 one-touch presets, express cooking, 10 power levels, a child safety lock and an easy clean interior

    Check the listing
  • The shared pair, turntable removable

    BLACK+DECKER EM720CB7 Countertop Microwave Oven, 0.7 Cu.Ft, 700W, Stainless Steel, product image supplied with the listing

    BLACK+DECKER EM720CB7 Countertop Microwave Oven, 0.7 Cu.Ft, 700W, Stainless Steel

    The shared pair, a power level count and a set of named parts. Its model code opens with digits that read like the cavity figure beside it, and measure nothing. The turntable is described as removable rather than measured.

    Settings
    10 power levels
    Capacity
    0.7 cubic feet
    Watts
    700
    Model code
    EM720CB7
    Not stated
    4 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • The power level count is stated plainly
    • The door mechanism is described rather than implied
    • The turntable is described as removable
    • The model code appears in the listing title

    What it leaves out

    • No preset count at all, so it cannot be compared against most of this category
    • The digits in its model code measure nothing
    • Both halves of the pair are shared with several other listings here

    Best for
    A model code that reads like a capacity and is not one.

    Badge basis
    It states the shared pair, and it is the only listing in this subgroup to describe its turntable as removable.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states 0.7 cubic feet, 700 watts, digital controls, a push-button door, a child safety lock, 10 power levels and a removable turntable

    Check the listing
  • The shared pair, programs counted

    Nostalgia Retro Countertop Microwave Oven, 0.7 Cu.Ft, 700W, Pink, product image supplied with the listing

    Nostalgia Retro Countertop Microwave Oven, 0.7 Cu.Ft, 700W, Pink

    8presets claimed; the listing names none of them

    The shared pair once more, with a count of auto-cook programs rather than presets. The figure is higher than the preset counts elsewhere in this subgroup, and the word is different, so there is no way to tell from the listings whether more is being offered or the same thing is being renamed.

    Presets
    8 auto-cook programs
    Capacity
    0.7 cubic feet
    Watts
    700
    Not stated
    5 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • The program count is stated as a figure
    • The turntable material is named
    • A clock is described as a part rather than counted as a program
    • Both halves of the pair are stated with units

    What it leaves out

    • Program and preset are used across this category without either being defined
    • None of the programs is named
    • Its cavity and wattage figures do not separate it from its neighbors

    Best for
    A count of programs, in a subgroup that mostly counts presets.

    Badge basis
    This program phrase is stated by one listing in the catalog, and it is the only listing here to call its count auto-cook programs.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states 0.7 cubic feet, 700 watts, a glass turntable, a child safety lock, 8 auto-cook programs and a digital clock

    Check the listing
  • The shared pair, sound switchable

    COMFEE EM720CPL-PMB Countertop Microwave Oven, 0.7 Cu.Ft, 700W, Black, product image supplied with the listing

    COMFEE EM720CPL-PMB Countertop Microwave Oven, 0.7 Cu.Ft, 700W, Black

    The pair and nothing else counted. One-touch buttons are mentioned without a figure, which is the same feature its neighbors put a number on. Its model code opens with digits that echo the cavity figure, by coincidence rather than by design.

    Capacity
    0.7 cubic feet
    Watts
    700
    Model code
    EM720CPL-PMB
    Not stated
    5 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • It does not count something it declines to name
    • The sound control is described in both directions, on and off
    • The model code appears in the listing title
    • The pair is stated with units on both halves

    What it leaves out

    • One-touch buttons are described but never counted
    • Neither figure it states separates it from six other listings here
    • No power level count and no preset count

    Best for
    The pair, and a feature its neighbors count that this one does not.

    Badge basis
    It states the shared pair, and it is the only listing in this subgroup to describe its sound as switchable in both directions.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states 0.7 cubic feet, 700 watts, eco mode, sound on and off, one-touch buttons and a child safety lock

    Check the listing
  • The shared pair, stainless finish

    Farberware FMO07AHTBKJ Countertop Microwave Oven, 0.7 Cu.Ft, 700W, Stainless, product image supplied with the listing

    Farberware FMO07AHTBKJ Countertop Microwave Oven, 0.7 Cu.Ft, 700W, Stainless

    This listing and the black Farberware entry in this catalog state exactly the same figures and the same features. The finish is the difference, and this site does not invent a second one. Auto cook settings are mentioned without a count.

    Capacity
    0.7 cubic feet
    Watts
    700
    Model code
    FMO07AHTBKJ
    Not stated
    5 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • The pair is stated with units on both halves
    • Defrost is named as a function
    • The model code appears in the listing title
    • It does not put a figure on its auto cook settings it would then have to define

    What it leaves out

    • Every stated figure matches the other Farberware entry here exactly
    • Auto cook settings are described but never counted
    • Easy clean is an adjective with nothing measurable behind it

    Best for
    Half of the catalog pair that differs only in finish.

    Badge basis
    Its stated figures match the other Farberware entry in this catalog exactly, and the finish named in the title is the difference between them.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states 0.7 cubic feet, 700 watts, auto cook settings, defrost, easy clean and a child safety lock

    Check the listing
  • The shared pair, black finish

    Farberware FMO07ABTBKA Countertop Microwave Oven, 0.7 Cu.Ft, 700W, Black, product image supplied with the listing

    Farberware FMO07ABTBKA Countertop Microwave Oven, 0.7 Cu.Ft, 700W, Black

    The other half of the pair. Same cavity figure, same wattage, same features, same phrasing as the stainless Farberware entry. The listings differ in the finish and in the model code, and in nothing else that either of them states.

    Capacity
    0.7 cubic feet
    Watts
    700
    Model code
    FMO07ABTBKA
    Not stated
    5 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • The pair is stated with units on both halves
    • Defrost is named as a function
    • The model code appears in the listing title
    • The listing is identical to its sibling, which at least makes it consistent

    What it leaves out

    • Every stated figure matches the stainless Farberware entry here exactly
    • Auto cook settings are described but never counted
    • Nothing in the numbers distinguishes it from its sibling

    Best for
    The other half of the catalog pair that differs only in finish.

    Badge basis
    Its stated figures match the stainless Farberware entry in this catalog exactly, and the finish named in the title is the difference between them.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states 0.7 cubic feet, 700 watts, auto cook settings, defrost, easy clean and a child safety lock

    Check the listing

0.9 Cu.Ft and larger 3

Three listings above the shared pair. Two of them state the same cavity and the same wattage as each other, so even here the headline figures repeat.

What differs inside 0.9 Cu.Ft and larger
ListingPresetsSettingsCapacityWattsModel code
TOSHIBA Countertop Microwave Oven, 1.2 Cu.Ft, 1000W, Black12not stated1.2 cubic feet1000not stated
BLACK+DECKER EM925AB9 Countertop Microwave Oven, 0.9 Cu.Ft, 900W, Stainless Steel610 power levels0.9 cubic feet900EM925AB9
TOSHIBA ML-EM09PA-BS Microwave Oven, 0.9 Cu.Ft, 900W, Black Stainless Steel6not stated0.9 cubic feet900ML-EM09PA-BS
  • Largest stated cavity here

    TOSHIBA Countertop Microwave Oven, 1.2 Cu.Ft, 1000W, Black, product image supplied with the listing

    TOSHIBA Countertop Microwave Oven, 1.2 Cu.Ft, 1000W, Black

    12presets claimed; the listing names none of them

    The largest stated cavity in this category, with the highest wattage in it, a menu count and a turntable measured in inches. It calls its count auto menus, which is a fourth word for the thing the rest of the category calls presets or programs.

    Presets
    12 auto menus
    Capacity
    1.2 cubic feet
    Watts
    1000
    Not stated
    5 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • The largest cavity figure in this category, stated with its unit
    • The turntable is measured rather than described
    • The menu count is stated as a figure
    • Eco mode and the mute function are named separately from the count

    What it leaves out

    • Auto menu is a fourth name in this category for an uncounted kind of thing
    • None of the menus is named
    • No model code appears in the listing title

    Best for
    The biggest cavity here, counted in a fourth vocabulary.

    Badge basis
    No other listing in this category states this cavity figure, and none states a larger one.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states 1.2 cubic feet, 1000 watts, a 12.4 inch removable turntable, a smart humidity sensor, 12 auto menus, a mute function, eco mode and an easy clean interior

    Check the listing
  • Above the pair, levels still counted

    BLACK+DECKER EM925AB9 Countertop Microwave Oven, 0.9 Cu.Ft, 900W, Stainless Steel, product image supplied with the listing

    BLACK+DECKER EM925AB9 Countertop Microwave Oven, 0.9 Cu.Ft, 900W, Stainless Steel

    6presets claimed; the listing names none of them

    A larger cavity and a higher wattage than the shared pair, with the same power level figure the small machines state and a preset count under a fifth phrase. Its model code opens with digits close enough to the cavity figure to look deliberate.

    Presets
    6 auto cook presets
    Settings
    10 power levels
    Capacity
    0.9 cubic feet
    Watts
    900
    Model code
    EM925AB9
    Not stated
    3 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • Cavity and wattage are both stated with units and both differ from the shared pair
    • Power levels and presets are counted separately
    • The door mechanism is named
    • The model code appears in the listing title

    What it leaves out

    • A power level count that matches machines of a different wattage tells you nothing about either
    • Auto cook preset is another phrase for a thing none of these listings defines
    • None of the presets is named

    Best for
    The same power level count, on a machine of different size and wattage.

    Badge basis
    It is the only listing outside the shared pair subgroup to state a power level count, and it states the same count the small machines do.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states 0.9 cubic feet, 900 watts, 10 power levels, a push-button door, a child safety lock and 6 auto cook presets

    Check the listing
  • Above the pair, turntable measured

    TOSHIBA ML-EM09PA-BS Microwave Oven, 0.9 Cu.Ft, 900W, Black Stainless Steel, product image supplied with the listing

    TOSHIBA ML-EM09PA-BS Microwave Oven, 0.9 Cu.Ft, 900W, Black Stainless Steel

    6presets claimed; the listing names none of them

    The same cavity and wattage as one neighbor, a turntable measured in inches, and a menu count that matches three preset counts elsewhere in this category under three other names. Its model code carries the digits nine, which the cavity figure also carries.

    Presets
    6 auto menus
    Capacity
    0.9 cubic feet
    Watts
    900
    Model code
    ML-EM09PA-BS
    Not stated
    4 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • The turntable is measured, which most listings here skip
    • Cavity and wattage are both stated with units
    • The menu count is stated as a figure
    • The model code appears in the listing title

    What it leaves out

    • Its menu count matches preset counts elsewhere under different names
    • None of the menus is named
    • Its cavity and wattage are identical to another listing in this subgroup

    Best for
    Two machines with the same pair, in the subgroup built to avoid that.

    Badge basis
    This menu phrase is stated by one listing in the catalog, and this is the smaller of the two turntables measured in inches here.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states 0.9 cubic feet, 900 watts, 6 auto menus, a mute function, a child lock, LED lighting and a 10.6 inch removable turntable

    Check the listing

Questions with plain answers

If seven listings state the same pair of figures, what separates them?

On paper, the vocabulary and the smaller counts. Some state a power level count, some state a preset count under one of five different phrasings, and two state neither. This site does not go beyond what is stated.

Two of these listings look identical. Are they?

Every figure and feature the two Farberware listings state is the same. The finish named in the title is the difference, and this site does not invent a second one.

Does a higher wattage figure mean faster cooking?

This site does not convert wattage into anything, including speed. The figure is reported as the listing states it and left there.

Preset, program, auto menu, auto cook preset: are they the same?

All four phrases appear in this category, some attached to identical figures. No listing defines any of them, so nothing here supports treating them as the same thing or as different things.