Skip to the page
HomeApplianceBluff

Gear ยท 10 listings

Upright Vacuum Cleaners

numbers about the tank, not about the floor

The measurable claims in this category are almost all about the container. Dust cups arrive in quarts and in liters, cords arrive in feet, one machine arrives in pounds, and several arrive with an adjective where the figure should be. Nothing here is a claim about what happens to a floor, and this site makes none.

The machine underneath: A motor and a brushroll

Lift-Away uprights 3

Three listings describing a detachable pod. Two state the same dust cup figure; the third calls its cup large and leaves it there.

What differs inside Lift-Away uprights
ListingCapacityModel code
Shark NV360 Navigator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, Blue0.9-Qt dust cupNV360
Shark NV501 Rotator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, White and Red0.9-Qt dust cupNV501
Shark AZ2002 Vertex Powered Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, Silver and Rose Goldnot statedAZ2002
  • Dust cup in quarts, filter named

    Shark NV360 Navigator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, Blue, product image supplied with the listing

    Shark NV360 Navigator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, Blue

    A dust cup stated in quarts, a filter described with a defined term, a detachable pod and two named tools. The quart figure here is shared with one other listing in this category, and neither can be compared to the liter figures without converting units the listings never convert.

    Capacity
    0.9-Qt dust cup
    Model code
    NV360
    Not stated
    6 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • The dust cup is measured and the unit is stated
    • The filter claim uses a term with a published definition behind it
    • Two tools are named individually rather than counted
    • The model code appears in the listing title

    What it leaves out

    • The dust cup unit differs from other tanks in the same category
    • Brushroll shutoff and swivel steering are described but not measured
    • No wattage is stated anywhere in the listing

    Best for
    A tank in quarts next to a filter term that has a definition.

    Badge basis
    The listing states a dust cup in quarts and names a filter type, and it is the shorter of the two listings here that do both.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states a HEPA filter, a Lift-Away pod, swivel steering, brushroll shutoff, a 0.9-Qt dust cup and upholstery and crevice tools

    Check the listing
  • Same tank figure, longer tool list

    Shark NV501 Rotator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, White and Red, product image supplied with the listing

    Shark NV501 Rotator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, White and Red

    The same dust cup figure as another listing in this category, with a longer list of named tools and LED headlights added. The tank did not change; the list did. That is the whole shape of this aisle in one listing.

    Capacity
    0.9-Qt dust cup
    Model code
    NV501
    Not stated
    6 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • The dust cup figure is stated with its unit
    • Three tools are named rather than summed into a figure
    • The filter claim uses a defined term
    • LED headlights are described as a feature, not counted as one

    What it leaves out

    • Its stated dust cup is identical to another listing here, so the figure does not separate them
    • A longer tool list is not a larger number of anything
    • No wattage is stated

    Best for
    The same tank figure carrying a longer list of names.

    Badge basis
    Its dust cup figure is also stated by another listing in this category, and this listing names more tools than that one.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states a HEPA filter, a Lift-Away pod, a 0.9-Qt dust cup, swivel steering, LED headlights, a wide upholstery tool, a dusting brush and a crevice tool

    Check the listing
  • Dust cup called large, not measured

    Shark AZ2002 Vertex Powered Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, Silver and Rose Gold, product image supplied with the listing

    Shark AZ2002 Vertex Powered Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, Silver and Rose Gold

    The dust cup here is called large and left at that, while the two other Lift-Away listings in this category both put a number on theirs. Three tools are named. Everything else in the listing is a brand phrase.

    Model code
    AZ2002
    Not stated
    7 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • Three tools are named individually
    • The brushroll behavior is described in plain words
    • The model code appears in the listing title
    • The listing does not attach a figure it cannot define

    What it leaves out

    • The dust cup is described but never measured
    • DuoClean PowerFins is a name, not a specification
    • No filter term, no wattage and no cord length

    Best for
    The Lift-Away that describes its tank instead of measuring it.

    Badge basis
    It is the only Lift-Away listing in this category whose dust cup carries an adjective instead of a figure.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states DuoClean PowerFins, a self-cleaning brushroll, a large dust cup, a pet crevice tool, a dusting brush and a power brush

    Check the listing

Other uprights 6

The widest spread of measured and unmeasured claims in this category. Two dust cups are stated in liters, one weight is stated in pounds, and four of these listings state no capacity figure at all.

What differs inside Other uprights
ListingCapacityModel code
Shark ZU102 Rotator Pet Upright Vacuum, Charcoal2.9 L dust cupZU102
Amazon Basics Upright Bagless Vacuum Cleaner, Black and White1.7L dust cupnot stated
Eureka NEU10AE4 Airspeed Ultra-Lightweight Upright Vacuum, Greennot statedNEU10AE4
Bissell 2252 CleanView Swivel Pet Upright Vacuumnot stated2252
Bissell 3508 CleanView Compact Upright Vacuumnot stated3508
Eureka PowerSpeed Lightweight Upright Vacuum, Blue and Blacknot statednot stated
  • Dust cup measured, floor not

    Shark ZU102 Rotator Pet Upright Vacuum, Charcoal, product image supplied with the listing

    Shark ZU102 Rotator Pet Upright Vacuum, Charcoal

    Two brand phrases and one measurement. The dust cup is stated in liters, which is a real number about the tank, and everything else in the listing is a name. This category sells tank figures and calls them performance, and this listing is the shortest example of it.

    Capacity
    2.9 L dust cup
    Model code
    ZU102
    Not stated
    6 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • The dust cup is measured rather than described as large
    • The stated figure is unique in this category
    • The listing is short enough that the one number is easy to find
    • The model code appears in the listing title

    What it leaves out

    • Its dust cup unit differs from the quart figures elsewhere in this category
    • PowerFins HairPro and Odor Neutralizer Technology are names, not figures
    • No wattage, no filter claim and no tool count

    Best for
    The tank measured, and nothing else in the listing measured at all.

    Badge basis
    This dust cup figure is stated by one listing in the catalog, and the listing makes no measured claim about anything else.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states PowerFins HairPro, Odor Neutralizer Technology and a 2.9 L dust cup

    Check the listing
  • Dust cup and cord both measured

    Amazon Basics Upright Bagless Vacuum Cleaner, Black and White, product image supplied with the listing

    Amazon Basics Upright Bagless Vacuum Cleaner, Black and White

    The only listing in this category that measures two different things: the dust cup in liters and the cord in feet. Neither figure describes what the machine does to a floor, and the listing does not claim they do.

    Capacity
    1.7L dust cup
    Not stated
    7 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • Two separate measurements, each with its unit stated
    • The filter is described as washable rather than by a defined term
    • Both tools are named individually
    • The detachable handle is described plainly

    What it leaves out

    • The dust cup unit differs from the quart figures elsewhere in this category
    • A cord length and a tank volume answer different questions
    • No model code and no wattage in the listing text

    Best for
    Two honest measurements about two things nobody asked about.

    Badge basis
    This dust cup figure appears once in the catalog, and this is the only listing in the category to measure a cord as well.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states a washable filter, crevice and upholstery tools, a detachable handle, a 1.7L dust cup and a 25 ft cord

    Check the listing
  • Weight measured, tank not

    Eureka NEU10AE4 Airspeed Ultra-Lightweight Upright Vacuum, Green, product image supplied with the listing

    Eureka NEU10AE4 Airspeed Ultra-Lightweight Upright Vacuum, Green

    The one figure in this listing is the weight of the machine, in pounds. It is the only listing in this category to put a number on its own mass, and it puts no number on its tank at all.

    Model code
    NEU10AE4
    Not stated
    7 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • The weight is stated as a measurement with its unit
    • Two tools are named individually
    • The filter is described as washable, which is a plain claim
    • The model code appears in the listing title

    What it leaves out

    • The dust cup is not measured or described
    • A weight in pounds sits on no scale shared with any other figure in this category
    • No wattage and no filter term

    Best for
    A category of tank numbers, answered with a number about the handle.

    Badge basis
    It is the only upright in this category whose listing states a weight in pounds while stating no dust cup figure.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states 7.7 lb, an upright for carpet and hard floor, a brush, a crevice tool and a washable filter

    Check the listing
  • Tank called large capacity

    Bissell 2252 CleanView Swivel Pet Upright Vacuum, product image supplied with the listing

    Bissell 2252 CleanView Swivel Pet Upright Vacuum

    The tank is called large capacity and the brush roll is called triple action. The listing counts nothing. Its model code is the only string of digits attached to the machine, and those digits measure nothing.

    Model code
    2252
    Not stated
    7 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • The listing makes no counted claim it would have to define
    • Steering and brush roll behavior are both described
    • The model code appears in the listing title
    • The tank claim uses the same words the rest of the shelf uses

    What it leaves out

    • Large capacity is not a figure and cannot be compared
    • Triple action describes a brush roll without measuring anything
    • No dust cup figure, no wattage, no filter term

    Best for
    A listing where every claim is an adjective.

    Badge basis
    It is the only listing in this category to use the phrase large capacity of its tank while stating no figure for it.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states swivel steering, a triple action brush roll, a large capacity dirt tank and scatter-free technology

    Check the listing
  • Extension wand, no measurements

    Bissell 3508 CleanView Compact Upright Vacuum, product image supplied with the listing

    Bissell 3508 CleanView Compact Upright Vacuum

    A wand, a brand phrase, two adjectives about the body and a suggestion about where it might live. No figure of any kind appears in the listing text except the digits in the model name, and those are a label.

    Model code
    3508
    Not stated
    7 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • The extension wand is described as removable rather than counted
    • The body claim is a plain adjective
    • The listing names a setting it suits without claiming performance
    • The model code appears in the listing title

    What it leaves out

    • No measurement of any kind in the listing text
    • Scatter-free technology is a name with nothing behind it in the listing
    • Nothing here can be compared with any other listing on a shared scale

    Best for
    A listing with no numbers in it at all.

    Badge basis
    It is the only listing in this category to name a removable extension wand, and it states no measurement beside it.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states a removable extension wand, scatter-free technology, a lightweight compact body and use in apartments and dorms

    Check the listing
  • Calls itself a new model

    Eureka PowerSpeed Lightweight Upright Vacuum, Blue and Black, product image supplied with the listing

    Eureka PowerSpeed Lightweight Upright Vacuum, Blue and Black

    The shortest listing in the catalog. It says the machine is light, says it works on carpet and hard floor, and says it is new. There is no figure, no tool list and no model code in the title.

    Not stated
    8 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • Nothing is counted, so nothing is left undefined
    • The floor types are named rather than implied
    • The claim is short enough to read in full
    • No brand phrase stands in for a specification

    What it leaves out

    • New model is a claim about the calendar, not the machine
    • No dust cup figure, no weight, no wattage
    • Nothing in the listing distinguishes it from the rest of this category

    Best for
    The listing that offers the least to compare.

    Badge basis
    It is the only listing in the catalog whose text offers newness as a feature, and it states no figure at all.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states a lightweight upright for carpet and hard floor and calls itself a new model

    Check the listing

Corded stick 1

One listing, described by its own text as a corded stick with a handheld conversion. It has no comparison table because there is nothing here to compare it against.

One listing in this group, so there is nothing here to compare it against.

  • Filed here, built as a stick

    Shark HV301 Rocket Corded Stick Vacuum, Gray and Orange, product image supplied with the listing

    Shark HV301 Rocket Corded Stick Vacuum, Gray and Orange

    The listing describes a corded stick with a handheld mode, not an upright. It is filed in this category because that is where it is sold, and the difference matters: its one figure is a weight, stated as a limit rather than a value, and it has no tank figure to compare with the uprights around it.

    The listing describes this as a corded stick vacuum with a handheld conversion. It is filed in this category because that is where it sits on the shelf, not because the listing calls it an upright.

    Model code
    HV301
    Not stated
    7 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • The weight is stated, even if as a ceiling rather than a value
    • The handheld conversion is described plainly
    • Two tools are named individually
    • The model code appears in the listing title

    What it leaves out

    • Under nine pounds is a bound, not a measurement
    • No dust cup figure at all
    • It is not built like the uprights it is filed beside, so shared columns mislead

    Best for
    The entry that shows why a category is not a shape.

    Badge basis
    It is the only listing in this category described by its own text as a corded stick with a handheld mode rather than an upright.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states under 9 lbs, a handheld conversion, swivel steering, low-profile reach and crevice and upholstery tools

    Check the listing

Questions with plain answers

Can a dust cup in quarts be compared with one in liters?

Not on this site. The listings do not convert between units and neither does this catalog, so a quart figure and a liter figure are shown side by side as two different statements rather than one scale.

Why is a stick vacuum filed with the uprights?

Because that is where it is sold. Its own listing describes a corded stick with a handheld conversion, and that difference is printed on its card and in its subgroup note rather than smoothed over.

Do any of these listings say how much they pick up?

No. Every measured claim in this category is about the machine or its container. This site makes no statement about cleaning performance of any kind.

What does the filter term on some of these listings mean?

It is a filtration specification with a published definition, covered on its own fine print page. It describes what a medium does to particles, and this site does not stretch it past that.