Skip to the page
HomeApplianceBluff

2 slice vs 4 slice toaster

Across these 4 toaster listings the slice count is the one field every listing states, and it takes two values: 2 and 4. Nothing else splits along that line. The browning figure varies inside both halves rather than between them, and only 1 of the 4 states a wattage at all, which leaves the field useless for telling the two kinds apart.

What each listing states

Every counted field this question turns on, as the listings state it
ListingCapacityWattsIn-oneSettingsPresetsMax tempModel code
Amazon Basics 2 Slice Toaster, Black and Silver2 slices900not stated6 browning settingsnot statednot statednot stated
Cuisinart CPT-122BK Compact 2-Slice Toaster, Black2 slicesnot statednot stated7 shade settingsnot statednot statedCPT-122BK
BLACK+DECKER TR1478BD 4-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel4 slicesnot statednot stated7 shade settingsnot statednot statedTR1478BD
Cuisinart CPT-180P1 4-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel4 slicesnot statednot stated6-setting browning dialsnot statednot statedCPT-180P1

The slice count is the only clean split

Every one of these 4 listings states how many slices it takes, and the catalog files them under two subgroups on exactly that basis. Two listings state "2 slices" and two state "4 slices". Both of the two-slot listings also put the figure in words in their own text, stating two slices, and both four-slot listings state four slices the same way.

That is the whole of the difference the slot count guarantees. It is a claim about how many pieces of bread the machine takes, and it carries no other stated consequence anywhere in these 4 listings.

The browning figure ignores the split

All 4 of these listings state a figure for browning, which makes it the second field with no gaps. It does not follow the slot count. The figures run from 6 to 7, and each value appears once in each half of the group.

The words attached to those figures differ every time. One listing states "6 browning settings", another "7 shade settings", a third "7 shade settings" as well, and the fourth "6-setting browning dials". So a reader comparing browning across these listings is comparing four phrasings of which no two agree, wrapped around figures that only take two distinct values. The catalog-wide view of this is the count of settings and levels.

Wattage is stated once and nowhere else

Only 1 of the 4 listings states a wattage: the Amazon Basics two-slot at 900W. The other three state none, so three of the four rows in the table read "not stated" on that field.

A single figure cannot be compared with anything, and it certainly cannot be doubled to guess at a four-slot equivalent. That is the point at which this comparison stops, and the table stops with it. Readers who want the same exercise on a field that every listing does fill in will find it in the microwave wattage comparison, where the headline figure is stated by all four.

Named functions, and the model code

Beyond the figures the listings name buttons and modes, and here the two halves do not separate either. Defrost is named by three of these listings, one of them four-slot; a bagel setting by two, one from each half; reheat by two, again one from each half; cancel by two, both two-slot. No named function belongs to one slot count alone.

A crumb tray is named by all 4 of them, and even there the wording moves: three call it removable and the fourth calls it slide-out. Wide slots are named by three of the four, once as extra wide slots for bagels and twice as extra-wide slots, which means the widest-sounding claim in the group sits on a two-slot listing. Cord wrap is named once and by nobody else.

None of that is a figure, so none of it reaches the table, and that is the point worth carrying away from a slot-count comparison: the countable part of these listings is thin, and the part that reads like a specification is mostly wording.

Model codes are stated by 3 of the 4. The one listing without a model code is the same one that states the wattage, so no single row here is complete across the counted fields. The category index carries the rest of the toasters filed on this site.

Questions with plain answers

Is a 4 slice toaster better than a 2 slice?

Nothing in these 4 listings answers that. The slot figure is the only field that splits the group, and every other stated field either varies inside both halves or is missing from most of them.

Do 4 slice toasters have more browning settings?

Not among these listings. The browning figures run from 6 to 7 and each value appears once on each side of the split, so the slot count predicts nothing about it.

How many watts does a toaster use?

These listings mostly do not say. One of the 4 states a wattage, at 900W, and the other three leave the field empty.

What is the difference between shade settings and browning settings?

In these listings, nothing but the words. Two listings state "7 shade settings", one states "6 browning settings" and one states "6-setting browning dials". The figures behind those phrases take only two distinct values between them.

The listings on this page

Only toaster stating watts

Amazon Basics 2 Slice Toaster, Black and Silver, product image supplied with the listing

Amazon Basics 2 Slice Toaster, Black and Silver

The listing states two slices, extra wide slots, a browning scale, a removable crumb tray, defrost, cancel and bagel buttons, cord wrap and a wattage. It is the only toaster in this category whose listing states a wattage at all, which makes the figure impossible to compare against its neighbors.

Settings
6 browning settings
Capacity
2 slices
Watts
900
Not stated
5 of the counted fields

What the listing gives you

  • The only listing in this category that states a wattage
  • The browning scale is counted rather than described as high or low
  • Named buttons are listed separately from the browning scale
  • Slice count and slot description are both given

What it leaves out

  • The stated wattage has nothing to sit beside, because no other toaster here states one
  • The listing calls its scale browning settings while others call the same thing shades
  • Nothing in the listing says what one browning setting is

Best for
Watching a number arrive with no second example to compare it to.

Badge basis
This wattage figure appears once in this category, and no other listing filed here states a wattage of any size.

Quoted from the listing
listing states two slices, extra wide slots for bagels, 6 browning settings, a removable crumb tray, defrost, cancel and bagel buttons, cord wrap and 900W

Check the listing

Shade scale on a compact body

Cuisinart CPT-122BK Compact 2-Slice Toaster, Black, product image supplied with the listing

Cuisinart CPT-122BK Compact 2-Slice Toaster, Black

Two slices and a shade scale a step longer than most of this category, plus defrost, reheat and cancel. The listing calls its scale shade settings. Another listing here uses the same phrase and the same number on a machine that takes twice as many slices.

Settings
7 shade settings
Capacity
2 slices
Model code
CPT-122BK
Not stated
5 of the counted fields

What the listing gives you

  • The shade scale is stated as a count rather than a range of words
  • Three named functions sit outside the shade scale, so the two are not mixed
  • The model code is printed in the listing title
  • Slice count is stated plainly

What it leaves out

  • The listing does not say what separates one shade from the next
  • Nothing says whether its shade scale spans the same range as a shorter one
  • No wattage is stated

Best for
A shade scale stated as a count, on the smallest body in this category.

Badge basis
The listing states a shade count and calls the body compact, and it is the only two-slice listing here to state both.

Quoted from the listing
listing states two slices, 7 shade settings, defrost, reheat and cancel functions, a removable crumb tray and a compact body

Check the listing

Shades and a bagel mode

BLACK+DECKER TR1478BD 4-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, product image supplied with the listing

BLACK+DECKER TR1478BD 4-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel

Four slices, extra-wide slots, a bagel mode and a shade scale stated with the same phrase and the same figure as a two-slice machine elsewhere in this category. Doubling the slots did not change the count of shades, which is worth noticing before treating a shade figure as a size.

Settings
7 shade settings
Capacity
4 slices
Model code
TR1478BD
Not stated
5 of the counted fields

What the listing gives you

  • Shade scale and slice count are stated as separate figures
  • The bagel mode is named rather than absorbed into the shade scale
  • The model code appears in the listing title
  • Slot width is described in the listing text

What it leaves out

  • Its shade figure is identical to a machine of half the slice count
  • The listing gives no definition of a shade step
  • No wattage is stated, so nothing scales with the extra slots

Best for
The clearest proof that a shade count is not a capacity.

Badge basis
The listing states a shade count and names a bagel mode, and it is the only four-slice listing here that states both.

Quoted from the listing
listing states four slices, extra-wide slots, 7 shade settings, a bagel mode and a removable crumb tray

Check the listing

Shades counted as dials

Cuisinart CPT-180P1 4-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, product image supplied with the listing

Cuisinart CPT-180P1 4-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel

Four slices and a browning scale stated as dials rather than settings or shades. The figure is the same one three other listings in this category use, under three different names. This is the only listing here that attaches the count to a physical control.

Settings
6-setting browning dials
Capacity
4 slices
Model code
CPT-180P1
Not stated
5 of the counted fields

What the listing gives you

  • The count is attached to a named control rather than left abstract
  • Defrost and reheat are listed separately from the browning scale
  • The crumb tray is described as slide-out, not just removable
  • The model code appears in the listing title

What it leaves out

  • Its phrasing matches no other listing here, so string comparison fails on it
  • A dial position and a shade setting are not stated to be the same thing
  • No wattage is stated

Best for
Seeing one figure arrive under a fourth name in the same category.

Badge basis
This phrasing of the setting count appears once in the whole catalog, and no other listing attaches the count to a dial.

Quoted from the listing
listing states four slices, extra-wide slots, defrost and reheat functions, 6-setting browning dials and a slide-out crumb tray

Check the listing